Thank you for reaching out. Your contact form has been successfully submitted. We'll be in touch soon!

2008 Women’s Paralympic Goalball Team

Asya Miller (Portland, Ore.)
Jennifer Armbruster (Clackamas, Ore.)
Jessie Lorenz (Seattle, Wash.)
Robin (Theryoung) Tueting (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Lisa (Banta) Czechowski (Boonton, N.J.)
Jackie Barnes (St. John, Ind.)
Coach – Ken Armbruster (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Assistant Coach – Sharon Gunderman (Belmar, N.J.)
Team Leader – Lou Thomson (Landrum, S.C.)
Athletic Trainer – Gwyn Short (Lakewood, Colo.)

Inducted 2020

The 2008 U.S. Women’s Goalball Team exemplified grit and determination in capturing the gold medal at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games. Playing host nation China in the final before an estimated 5,000 of their fans, the U.S. team prevailed with a hard-fought 6-5 victory. Other notable accomplishments during the 2008 season included a shootout victory over China to win the gold medal at the prestigious Malmo Inter Cup in Sweden, and a 2-1 overtime victory over Denmark in the Paralympic semi-final match.  Team captain Jen Armbruster was also selected as flag bearer and led the USA delegation at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games opening ceremony.