Thank you for reaching out. Your contact form has been successfully submitted. We'll be in touch soon!

Ronald W. Plassman Gold Standard Award

A graphic with the logo for the Ronald Plassman Gold Standard Award

Established in 2021, the Ronald W. Plassman Gold Standard Award is presented annually each fall to deserving athletes, coaches, and program supporters who demonstrate gold standard values lived out by the actions and support of Ron Plassman (1940-2022). These include excellence on the field of play, sportsmanship, leadership, and championing the sport of goalball.

Ron Plassman was a passionate champion of goalball, adaptive sports, and the Paralympic movement. Ron’s passionate support, specifically for goalball athletes, led to the creation of the Goalball Center of Excellence in Fort Wayne, Indiana, the first training site of its kind in the United States and now the home of the USA Men’s and Women’s Goalball resident training program.

Selection Criteria

  • Honors an athlete, coach, or program supporter
  • Recognizes values of sportsmanship and leadership, on and off the court
  • Demonstrates significant contributions to the sport of goalball
  • Champions the sport of goalball to support education and increase awareness of the Paralympic Movement
  • Restrictions
    • Honorees may only be named the recipient once every five years
    • One honoree annually (committee can make exceptions)

Submit a nomination using the online form before October 1, 2024. A selection committee will review all nominations after the deadline and select a winner in October.

The recipient of the award will be honored at USABA’s Breakfast with Champions in Colorado Springs on November 15.

2023 Ronald W. Plassman Gold Standard Award Recipient Hal Simpson

2022 Ronald W. Plassman Gold Standard Award Recipient: Jake Czechowski