Thank you for reaching out. Your contact form has been successfully submitted. We'll be in touch soon!

USABA Announces 2024 USA Goalball National Teams

Posted February 28, 2024  Goalball

The U.S. Association of Blind Athletes (USABA) today announced the 15 members of the 2024 USA Goalball Men’s and Women’s National Teams. The rosters include nine Paralympians boasting a combined 16 Paralympic medals.

The Men’s National Team comprises four Paralympians, including two Paralympic medalists. The roster is made up of four-time Paralympian and two-time medalist Tyler Merren (Greenville, Mich.), two-time Paralympian and 2016 silver medalist Matt Simpson (Smyrna, Ga.), and their 2020 Paralympic teammates Zach Buhler (Huntington, Ind.) and Calahan Young (Pittsburgh, Pa.). Rounding out the men’s team are Paralympic hopefuls Tre’Shaun Faison (Orange Park, Fla.), Christian King (Virginia Beach, Va.), and brothers Sean Walker* (Winchester, Va.) and Zion Walker (Winchester, Va.).

*(Sean Walker has since announced his retirement from the USA Goalball National Team. His position on the roster will be filled by Jordan Main (Austin, Texas))

“We are excited about the depth of our Men’s National Team at the beginning of the Paris 2024 Paralympic Year,” said USABA Director of Sport Performance Amanda Duke Boulet. “We know it will be a competitive year as our entire Men’s National Team and development pool look to improve so they can be considered for selection to the U.S. Paralympic Team later this summer.”

The seven-member Women’s National Team is an experienced team with five Paralympians who have amassed 13 Paralympic medals. The lineup includes six-time Paralympians and four-time Paralympic goalball medalists Lisa Czechowski (Boonton, N.J.) and Asya Miller (Portland, Ore.), three-time Paralympian and two-time medalist Amanda Dennis (Peachtree City, Ga.), two-time Paralympian and two-time medalist Eliana Mason (Beaverton, Ore.) and 2020 Paralympic silver medalist Mindy Cook (Columbus, Ohio). They will be joined by Megan Jenson (Tremonton, Utah) and Ali Lawson (Jasper, Ga.).

“We are thrilled to see our entire Women’s National Team back and poised to begin their comeback season in 2024 and focused on the LA2028 Paralympic Games,” added Duke Boulet.

The USA Men’s and Women’s Goalball National Team Programs provide performance-based support to individual athletes through travel and training assistance, tournament support, performance advisement, and allocation of resources. The National Team Program is comprised of athletes with proven performance capabilities. It is designed to support athletes as they advance toward making a Paralympic team and, subsequently, a podium performance at the Paralympic Games.

2024 USA Men’s Goalball National Team
Zach Buhler (Huntington, Ind.)
Tre’Shaun Faison (Orange Park, Fla.)
Christian King (Virginia Beach, Va.)
Tyler Merren (Greenville, Mich.)
Matt Simpson (Smyrna, Ga.)
Calahan Young (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Sean Walker (Winchester, Va.)
Zion Walker (Winchester, Va.)

2024 USA Women’s Goalball National Team
Mindy Cook (Columbus, Ohio)
Lisa Czechowski (Boonton, N.J.)
Amanda Dennis (Peachtree City, Ga.)
Megan Jenson (Tremonton, Utah)
Ali Lawson (Jasper, Ga.)
Eliana Mason (Beaverton, Ore.)
Asya Miller (Portland, Ore.)

A graphic showing the headshots of the seven athletes on the 2024 USA Goalball Men's National Team.
A graphic showing the headshots of the seven athletes on the 2024 USA Goalball Women's National Team.