Thank you for reaching out. Your contact form has been successfully submitted. We'll be in touch soon!

U.S. Goalball Teams Named to Compete in Rio 2016 Paralympic Games

Posted June 1, 2016  Goalball | National Goalball Teams

National Goalball Team Head Coaches Ken Armbruster and Mike Legé have named the Women’s and Men’s teams that will represent Team USA at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro September 7-18.

Both teams will play in a round-robin tournament format beginning Thursday, September 8. Games continue into the weekend and the following week. Medal games are scheduled for Friday, September 16. Click here for the full Rio 2016 Paralympic Games schedule.

The Women’s Paralympic team is comprised of six players, four of whom have competed in at least one Paralympic Games. Collectively, the women have appeared in 15 Paralympic Games.

“The team is really looking forward to the competition they will face in Rio,” said women’s head coach Ken Armbruster. “With the exception of China, we’ve played against or seen every team we’ll be playing in Rio. I don’t believe there is a clear favorite. We match up well against all of the teams and our experience should be a plus for us as several of the teams will be making their first Paralympic appearance.” The Women’s team will compete in Group C against Algeria, Brazil, Japan and Israel.

The Men’s National Goalball Team also boasts Paralympic experience. Half of the players named to the Men’s team have competed in at least one Paralympic Games.

“This is a very determined team,” said men’s head coach Mike Legé. “We have worked very hard all year refining technical skills and emphasizing teamwork. We’re looking forward to competing against the best teams in the world.” The Men’s team will compete in Group B against China, Finland, Lithuania and Turkey.

The United States was the first country to qualify both teams for Rio 2016 through competition. Brazil qualified both teams as the host country. Twenty men’s and women’s teams will compete for gold this September. Follow the teams’ journey to Rio on TwitterFacebook and the USABA website.
Rio 2016 Women’s Goalball Team
Jen Armbruster (Portland, Ore.)
Lisa Czechowski (Tucson, Ariz.)
Amanda Dennis (Peachtree City, Ga.)
Marybai Huking (Plain City, Utah)
Eliana Mason (Beaverton, Ore.)
Asya Miller (Portland, Ore.)
Rio 2016 Men’s Goalball Team
Joseph Hamilton (Sacramento, Calif.)
Andrew Jenks (Wilmington, Del.)
John Kusku (Commerce Township, Mich.)
Tyler Merren (Coral Springs, Fla.)
Matthew Simpson (Smyrna, Ga.)
Daryl Walker (Jacksonville, Fla.)